

TO : All Members of Ushuru SACCO

FROM: National Hon. Secretary

DATE : 15th March, 2023

RE : DELEGATES RESOLUTIONS AND INFORMATION

This is to inform the membership that the Society held its 37th Annual Delegates Meeting in Kisumu on 11th March 2023 and the Board of Directors wishes to communicate the following:

i. Elected Delegates and Board of Directors.

The following are the Society's Board of Directors and Delegates for the year 2023:

	NAME	POSITION	STATION
1	Isaac Kiprop.	National Chairman	Times Tower.
2	Onesmus Kioko Nzuki.	National Vice Chairman	Times Tower.
3	Dominic Mokaya.	National Hon. Secretary	Sameer.
4	Samuel Wachiuri.	National Treasurer	Times Tower
5	Martin Obara.	Director	Times Tower.
6	William Ndiritu.	Director	Times Tower
7	Clemence Wawuda.	Director	Times Tower.
8	Boaz Chimasia.	Director	PZ- Cussons.
9	Jemimah Mueni Munuve.	Director	Times Tower.
10	Kevin Maina.	Chairman Supervisory Committee	Times Tower.
11	Isaac Mwangi Kamau.	Member-Supervisory Committee	Times Tower.
12	Thomas Gwaro Ondara.	Secretary Supervisory Committee	Times Tower.
13	Dorcas Mwandoe.	Delegate Nairobi	Times Tower.
14	Emily Obonyo.	Delegate Nairobi	KLB.
15	Amartha N. Mbetera.	Delegate Nairobi	Times Tower.
16	Dishon Muiruri.	Delegate Nairobi	Times Tower.
17	Caroline Gachacha.	Delegate Nairobi	JKIA.
18	Magdalene Njeri Chege.	Delegate Nairobi	Machakos.

	Rita Susan Wambeti.	Delegate Nairobi	JKIA.
20	Faith Ndanu.	Delegate Nairobi	Times Tower.
21	Nyanungo Ochong.	Delegate Nairobi	Times Tower.
22	Risper Mukiri.	Delegate Nairobi	Thika.
23	Veronica Matoke.	Delegate Nairobi	ICD.
24	Winnie Wambui	Delegate Nairobi	NHIF.
25	Francis Omondi Aremo	Delegate Nairobi	Garrissa
26	Gilbert Ongaga Auka	Delegate Nairobi	Times Tower
27	Christine Gatwiri	Delegate Nairobi	Nyeri
28	Christine Mwende Muli	Delegate Nairobi	NHIF.
29	Daniel Chege Karuru	Delegate Nairobi	Namanga
30	Jamleck Murugami	Delegate Nairobi	NTSA
31	George Ogoma	Delegate Nairobi	Nakuru
32	Samuel Oloo Elisha.	Delegate Mombasa	CFS.
33	Millicent Lagat.	Delegate Mombasa	CFS.
34	Rachel Njeri Gichangi.	Delegate Mombasa	Customs house.
35	Biasha Omar Matano.	Delegate Mombasa	Customs house.
36	Muchiri Wanjohi.	Delegate Mombasa	Customs house.
37	Thomas Yeri.	Delegate Mombasa	Taveta
38	Khadija Jaber.	Delegate Mombasa	Customs house.
39	Nathaniel Nyoka	Delegate Mombasa	Lamu
40	Michael Nyoka Nyiro	Delegate Mombasa	Malindi
41	Margaret Sidi	Delegate Mombasa	Customs house.
42	Dedan Juma Ochieng	Delegate Mombasa	Kilindini.
43	Winnie Beryl Ondiek	Delegate Mombasa	KESRA
44	Jane Githire	Delegate Mombasa	Kilindini.
45	Tabitha Shali Mwakudua	Delegate Mombasa	MIA
46	Christine Lilian Akoko.	Delegate Kisumu	Isebania.
47	Owuor Awuor.	Delegate Kisumu	Kisumu
48	Philgona Mwatha.	Delegate Kisumu	Kisumu
49	Jonah Kimaru Tarus.	Delegate Kisumu	Kisumu
50	Maurice Gachomba	Delegate Kisumu	Kakamega

51	Ken Otieno	Delegate Kisumu	Kisii.
52	Lameck Odhiambo	Delegate Kisumu	Busia.
53	Mariamu Amusala.	Delegate Eldoret	Eldoret.
54	Joseph Bett.	Delegate Eldoret	Eldoret.
55	Justus Menge	Delegate Eldoret	E.I. Airport
56	Faith Chepkirui	Delegate Eldoret	Bungoma.
57	Lilian Mueni Mutunga	Delegate Eldoret	Eldoret
58	Samson Nakhungu	Delegate Eldoret	Malaba
59	Kenneth Byrun Ojiambo	Delegate Eldoret	Eldoret
60	Violet Minayo Wafula	Delegate Eldoret	Kitale

Further information on the constitution of the Board Sub-Committees can be obtained from the Society's website.

ii. Resolutions year 2023

The 37th Annual Delegates meeting discussed and passed the following resolutions for implementation:

- 1. <u>That</u> Interest on Members' Deposits for the period ending 31st December 2022 be paid to members at a rate of 10.2% on weighted average basis (less withholding tax) immediately.
- 2. That Interest on members' investments for the period ending 31st December 2022 be paid to members at a rate of 7% on weighted average basis (less withholding tax) immediately.
- 3. <u>That</u> Dividend on Share Capital for the period ending 31st December 2022 be paid to members at a rate of 15% (less withholding tax) immediately.
- **4.** That Honoraria at prescribed rates be paid to the Board of Directors, Supervisory Committee and Regional Team leaders. Members of staff also be paid bonus as prescribed.
- 5. <u>That</u> the Society's borrowing power be maintained at Kshs. Fifty (50) Million for the purpose of furthering the Society's objectives.
- **6.** That Regional team leaders be in charge of marketing the Society in their respective regions and they be facilitated accordingly.

- 7. <u>That</u> the following additional 16 delegates positions be created for purposes of member representation and furthering the Society's operations in the following stations:
 - i. Lodwar
 - ii. Mbita/Homabay
 - iii. Diani TSO/Airport/Kwale TSO
 - iv. Voi/Wundayi
 - v. Kilifi,
 - vi. Kitengela/EPZ/Athi River
 - vii.Sameer
 - viii. Mandera
 - ix. Nanyuki/Isiolo,
 - x. Public works & Roads
 - xi. Kenya Airports Authority (KAA)
 - xii. Kenya Literature Bureau (KLB)
 - xiii. Naivasha,
 - xiv. Wilson Airport
 - xv. Times Tower. (2 slots)

This will take effect in the year 2024.

8. That Board members explore the viability of opening fully fledged branches.

iii. General information of the Society

- 1. The Society wishes to remind members that the Society is now a licensed Deposit Taking (DT) Sacco, and thus Interest on deposits and all other payments are done through SASA Accounts. Members can access their funds through USSD code *688#, Visa cards (ATM), Mobile App M-ushuru or cash withdrawal at any Cooperative bank (for those with ATM cards) or Ushuru Sacco Centre.
- 2. The Society wishes to communicate some milestones it has achieved in the last two years.
 - a. That the Society's Asset base has grown from Kshs 5.4 Billion in year 2021 to Kshs 6.1 Billion in year 2022.
 - **b.** Funeral last expense for members remain Kshs.100, 000 and soon the Sacco will roll out the voluntary last expense cover as approved by the ADM. The cover will include parents and parents-in-law.
- 3. The Society launched its 4th Strategic plan 2023-2027 after successfully executing the 3rd Strategic Plan 2018-2022.
- **4.** There will be a continuous member's education exercise countrywide within the year. The dates and venues for the education shall be communicated.

- 5. All members are encouraged to channel their salaries through FOSA and enjoy competitive products like salary advance, SASA mobile loan of up to Ksh 150,000, FOSA pride with an interest rate of 11% P.a. and repayment period of 84 months, etc.
- 6. Official correspondences should be channeled via the Society's official email info@ushurusacco.com or via phone call to 020-7608700.

The Board of Directors take this opportunity to appreciate the membership for their loyalty and trust and wishes to reassure all members of the commitment to the Society's vision of being a world leading Sacco in empowering members for quality life.

Yours faithfully,

Dominic Mokaya

Head Office

Ushuru Sacco Centre, Wood Kilimani, Nairobi P.O. Box 52072 - 00200 Tel: +254 20 7608700 Mombasa - Office

Custom House, 1st flr, Rm No. 224, P.O. Box 90601, Mombasa Tel: +254 20 7608700

Eldoret - Office

Kiptagich House, 4th Floor P.O Box 402, Eldoret. Tel: +254 20 7608700 Kisumu - Office

Lake Basin Mall, upper ground Flr Rm 31 P.O Box 1970, Kisumu.
Tel: +254 20 7608700

Email: info@ushurusacco.com, Website: www.ushurusacco.com